Make no excuse, join Dr. Seuss

Sam! If you will let me be, I will try them. You will see . Say! I like green eggs and ham! I do! I like them, Sam -I-am!

These catchy lines popped into my mind as I observed, “Green Eggs and Ham” , the beautifully crafted bronze sculpture. My mind was blissfully flooded with childhood memories as I strolled through the gallery of the Center of Contemporary Arts that is conveniently located across the street from Monks.This sculpture is a tribute to Green Eggs and Ham brought to life by artist, Leo Rijn.

"Green Eggs and Ham"

“Green Eggs and Ham”, artist Leo Rijn, 2007

 

If you head over to the CCA you will find colorfully painted walls flooded with art created in the name of Seuss called “The Art of Dr. Seuss Retrospective”. The Abilene Cultural Affairs Council & CALF Festival is hosting “Seuss is Loose!” celebration June 14-17. The festivity begin with Artwalk 5-8 pm Thursday the 14th with on-going exhibitions until Sunday the 17th. You can find out more about all the activities and register online at www.abilenecac.org/calf.

Make no excuse and come join the celebrations of Dr.Seuss, who inspired our imaginations and brought us joy. Then take a break and try our Seuss inspired beverages only at Monks!!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment